In stock

SKU: DWC1088LP Categories: ,


Bo Diddley meets Screamin’ Jay Hawkins while doing the Surfin’ Bird. Stars Of Recent Bbc Television series, “The UK’s Best Part-Time Band”, King Salami and the Cumberland Three are London’s only rhythm’n’blues-punk band – and a band that truly represents London, being a mongrel mix of Caribbean, France, Japan and Spain (plus Canadian Spencer Evoy from MFC Chicken playing sax on many of this album’s songs). Their repertoire, while hugely influenced by many of the great though obscure tunes of the ’50s and ’60s, are made to sound fresh and new to modern ears. You won’t be able to help but move your feet when the Cumberland Three are blasting out of your speakers. The King howls like Screaming Jay Hawkins with Bo Diddley chasing his coat-tail whilst Andre Williams tries to offer up some of his bacon fat, while the Trashmen do the Surfin’ Bird behind him, shakin’ and twistin’ and groovin’ non-stop. The Cumberland Three rock up a storm with their own branded mix of vintage rockabilly, desperate rock’n’roll and stomping soul, with fire, energy, gusto and, above all, fun! Their more than a dozen vinyl singles and their first two albums have sold like the proverbial hot cakes and this, their latest offering, is sure to do the same. Because this is an old fashioned singles band – one that puts out one seven inch after another, all designed, and guaranteed, to get you dancing like a madman. And their long playing platters do exactly the same, with a surefire hit dance floor filling record coming – zing! zing! zing! – one after another. The band has played pretty much everywhere in Europe (with more trips to the continent coming very soon) where they fill venues in every town, plus Australia, Israel, Turkey, the USA, even in China and of course Japan (where they performed at the World Sumo Wrestling Champion­ship in front of Emperor Akihito, who was unable to stop himself from tapping his toes along to the band’s up-tempo tunes). Indeed, the band’s super fun new video for the title track of this album was filmed during a recent tour of Japan. Whether on stage or on record (or on film, as in the upcoming Roger Corman flick Death Race 20150), this is one of the most exciting bands in rock’n’roll right now – they are guys who know what it takes to make you move.


A1. Introduction
A2. Pineapple Mama
A3. Nosebleed Boogie
A4. Busy Body
A5. King Ghidorah
A6. King Size Love
A7. She Was A Mau Mau
B1. No Stoppin’
B2. Tiger In My Tank
B3. Stutterin’ Sue
B4. Camel Hop
B5. Shiver
B6.Goin’ Back To Wurstville
B7. Caramba! – With Outro

Additional information






You may also like…