OTHER GUYS, THE: Beat Block Club Sessions! LP


In stock

SKU: LZ089LP Categories: ,


It’s good to know that an endangered musical species is still thriving in parts of Europe. Like their British counterparts The Rapiers, France’s The Other Guys live and breathe early ’60s beat. They have the guitars, the clothes, the LP sleeve design and the moves. Crucially, they also have the musical chops to be convincing. Everything is driven by a Ringo-style backbeat, and the three-part vocals are well arranged on songs like ‘That’s My Girl’ and ‘I Won’t Give You More’. Two short instrumentals, ‘Cry For A Shadow’ and ‘Amazone Twist’ really swing as well. And the cover artwork is done really well. It looks like a record that needs to be listened too. Ex Phantom Surfers and Kaisers, so that should give you an idea of where they’re coming from.


A1. Don’t Ask Me
A2. Peanut Butter
A3. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Cry
A4. I Won’t Give You More
A5. Cry For A Shadow
A6. That’s My Girl
B1. Everybody’s Gonna Be Happy
B2. Don’t Torture Me
B3. The Amazone Twist
B4. Shake Shimmy Kitten
B5. By My Side
B6. Some Other Guys

Additional information